George Howard Appointed to State Commision

We are proud to announce that George Howard has been appointed as a board member of the Land and Water Conservation Study Commission, starting October 1, 2006.


This organization Establishes The Land and Water Conservation Study Commission (LWCSC) in response to Land for Tomorrow’s efforts to pass the Land and Water Conservation Bond of 2006. The legislation directs the LWCSC to:

  1. Identify and evaluate the existing sources of State funding for: (i) the public acquisition of land or interest in land to protect drinking water quality and prevent polluted runoff, conserve rivers, wetlands, floodplains, coastal waters, working farms, working forests, local parks, State parks, game lands and other natural areas, urban forests, and land visible from scenic highways in North Carolina; (ii) historic preservation; and (iii) economic and community development tied to land and water conservation and historic preservation.
  2. Collect research and information from North Carolina and other states and jurisdictions regarding incentive based techniques and management tools used to protect land and water and assess the applicability of such tools and techniques to land conservation in North Carolina.
  3. Prepare a draft report with a statement of the issues, a summary of the research, and recommendations to address funding needs and other issues affecting land and water conservation in North Carolina.
  4. Hold at least three public meetings, including at least one meeting in the Mountains, Piedmont, and the Coastal Plain region of the State to present the draft report and recommendations to the public and user groups.

The commission will consist of 16 members, five appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, five appointed by the Speaker of the House, the Treasurer or the Treasurer’s designee, the Director of the Governor’s Policy Office or the Director’s designee, the Secretary of the Environment and Natural Resources or the Secretary’s designee, and three representatives from the public at large appointed by the Governor. The commission will have two co-chairs, one designated by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and one designated by the Speaker of the The Commission will report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly and the Environmental Review Commission on or before February 1, 2007.

The other member so of the commmsion are as follows: Rep. Lucy Allen (co-chair; Franklin, Nash, Halifax), Rep. Bruce Goforth (Buncombe), Rep. Phil Haire (Jackson, Haywood, Macon, Swain), Rep. Pricey Harrison (Guilford), and Rep. William Wainwright (Lenoir and Craven)
Senator Basnight has appointed Sen. Clodfelter (co-chair; Mecklenburg), Sen. Charlie Albertson (Lenoir, Duplin, Sampson), Sen. Janet Cowell (Wake), Ms. Katherine Skinner (TNC), Dr. Larry Tombaugh (dean emeritus of NCSU School of Natural Sciences, board chair of NC Forestry Association).

The Treasurer has appointed Ms. Lisa Schneider from his office.

The Governor’s appointments are coming in,  and right now we know that Mr. Mike Leonard (Attorney from Forsyth County; sits on Natural Heritage Trust Fund Board) and Mr. David Womack (businessman from Greenville, Pitt County) have been appointed

 Congratulations George!