NC Transportation Hall of Fame Holds Annual Awards Ceremony

Yesterday marked the Fourth Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony Luncheon for the North Carolina Transportation Hall of Fame, held at The North Carolina Transportation Museum in Spencer, N.C. 

The event was held in the Bob Julian Roundhouse, which was built in 1924 and originally used as a maintenance building for steam engines.  It currently houses about 40 restored locomotives and rail cars and is one of the few preserved roundhouses that remains in the country.  It was a truly interesting step back in history and time visiting this building, which was lined with old locomotive cars and the first automobiles and buses that were introduced as forms of public transportation.   

The ceremony was held to honor five award recipients and eight inductees into the Hall of Fame, based on excellence in their work as it relates to the transportation industry. The honorees were as follows: 

2007 Award Recipients 

  • David L. Harkey, Director, UNC Highway Safety Research Center (NCTHF Founders’ Award) 
  • Phillip Wadsworth (Perley A. Thomas Award) 
  • Tony A. Pope (Earl E. Congdon, Jr. Award) 
  • William H. Williams, Director, NCDOT Aviation Division (Thomas H. Davis, Sr. Award) 
  • W.H. Rosser, NCDOT & John F. Sullivan, III, FHWA (Nello L. Teer, Sr. Award) 

 2007 Hall of Fame Inductees 

  • Willard F. Babcock
  • C. Grier Beam
  • John Blue
  • Richard J. Corbitt
  • Richard J. Reynolds, Jr.
  • Z. Smith Reynolds
  • C.E. Vick, Jr.
  • Seth T. Wooten, Sr.